Acura NSX

I moved to California from Chicago around 1998 when my dad got a job in Redwood Shores at Oracle. Being a recent college graduate, my dad only owned one car, a 1994 Honda Civic EX coupe. I was only 6 years old around that time so I was around the age where I appreciated all the little things in life, and my god was I in love with our civic. I honestly thought it was the coolest car ever to exist. I loved that car so much that 15 years later I bought myself a 1994 Acura Integra GSR Coupe, the sister car of the civic.(Acura is the luxury vehicle division of Honda). And then one day, when I was a kid my mom and I were picking up my dad from work at Oracle, and I see the car(one of many I assume) of the CEO and founder of Oracle, Larry Ellison, worth 48 billion dollars today. I was literally crazed with excitement to see that he was driving an AcuraNSX.

Photo courtesy of http://www.topspeed.com/

Til this day I am absolutely obsessed with this car. And the fact that one of the wealthiest people in the world owns one makes it that much cooler to me. The first generation NSX was released in 1991 and continued production til early 2000. The NSX with its v6, 3.2 liter engine pushes 290 horse power and can reach 0-60mph in 4.9 seconds, and 0-100 in 11.9 with a top speed of 175 miles per hour. Unfortunately I personally have not had any first hand experience with an NSX but I do hope once I graduate and am making a reasonable amount of money, I can afford to find and own a first generation NSX, simply to fulfill a childhood dream/promise I made to 6 year old Zeeshan.

 

Acura(Honda) is re creating the NSX, but it is just a concept for now. The first generation NSX was a match to the Ferrari 348, and it is expected that the concept NSX will be a close match to the Ferrari 458 Italia and the Lamborghini Gallardo. If there are any Iron Man/Avengers out there, Tony Stark is seen driving the NSX concept at the end of the Avengers.

“Tony Stark” and “Bruce Banner” aka Iron Man and Hulk getting into the NSX. photo courtesy of Jerry Garret

 

2 thoughts on “Acura NSX

  1. Hi zeeshan your blog was very interesting! I also think BMW cars are extremely nice and luxurious. It seems like you had a really good time test driving this car.

    Like

  2. I would love to have a 91 NSX that would be so cool! It would be the same age as me. I currently drive an Acura and have for about 6 years. Love most Acura coupes and sedans. Interesting article thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

